The State of Kuwait is located at the north western corner of the Arabian Gulf, bordering it from the north and North West is Iraq, to the south and south west is the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Due to its location, it is considered a natural passage to the north east of the Arabian Peninsula; this gained it commercial importance long ago. It was named Kuwait a diminutive of Khout which is a fort like construction used to store weapons and used as a refuge for soldiers.

Kuwait has nine Islands; Failaka, Bubyan, Miskan, Warbah, Auhah, Um-Almaradim, Um-Alnamil, Kubbar and Garouh. Kuwait occupies 17,818 Sq kilo metres of land.



Islam is the official religion of the State of Kuwait, while total freedom is granted to those who practice other religions on the understanding that they do not infringe upon Islam.



Since Kuwait is located in a desert region, the climate is continental distinguished by long hot dry summers and warm short winters with occasional rainfall. Sandstorms often occur during the summer months.



Kuwait is divided into six governorates:

  • Al Asimah (Kuwait city: capital and seat of government)
  • Jahra: largest governorate.
  • Hawalli
  • Farwaniyah
  • Mubarak Al-Kabeer
  • Al-Ahmadi



The population up until 30/June/2007 reached approximately 3,328,136. 1,038,598 of which are Kuwaiti nationals the rest are expatriates.

© 2022 Embassy of the State of Kuwait - Vienna
Back to Top